Paul Burnell

17 Feb 2014, Article
Two rounds uploaded with recordings
Blue the Sky and Grey My Sorrow Look at the Sky Both of these rounds both have texts about the sky - one is optimistic, the other is mournful.   As of 17 Feb 2014 they are both free to download.  If you try out the pieces, please get in touch to let me know how you got on with them.
03 Feb 2014, Article
Keyboard score with recording uploaded
'Standing in the Rain' was written by Paul Burnell around 1986.  This is the first time the score has been made available.   The piece can be performed by any keyboard instrument.  The recording is a computer rendition of a standard acoustic piano, and peformers are invited to try it on other keyboard instruments.
10 Dec 2013, Article
Good to Go score and parts uploaded
The album 'Good to Go' was released in 2007.  The title track has been one of the most listened-to tracks and now, for the first time, the vocal score and individual tracks have now been made available.
31 Oct 2013, Article
Concert performances of Rhombidodecadodecahedron - for steel pan and piano
The score and part has been uploaded to MusicaNeo The percussionist Chris Brannick premiered 'Rhombidodecadodecahedron' in Yorkshire with his brother in October, and later in November will be performing the piece for the London premiere at St John's Smith Square at a lunchtime concert with pianist Adrian Sutcliffe -  13:05, Thursday 21 November Concert details here To see a picture of a Rhombidodecadodecahedron, go ...
03 Sep 2013, Article
'Cabbage Heads' album now released
Paul Burnell has released two albums this year.   The most recent is 'Cabbage Heads' and scores & parts for all the pieces are available from MusicaNeo. The album can be downloaded from  Spotify , Amazon etc. and purchased as a CD from The track listing for the album is: And I Said "Hey Ted, You're Pixelated" Rotas Selective Memory Chime With Everything Else A Spotted Version of ...
24 Aug 2013, Article
And I Said, "Hey Ted, You're Pixleated"
Paul Burnell's new album 'Cabbage Heads' is released on 2nd September.  The score and recording for the first track on the album has been uploaded - 'And I Said "Hey Ted, You're Pixelated"'.   The composition is for low wind/brass, and the recording features Tenor Saxophones and drum kit.  The album will be available from digital stores such as iTunes and Amazon.
26 Jun 2013, Article
New piece for low wind/brass, plus recording
This new piece, that has a very long title, is the companion to another piece (also with a long title) that is yet to be released.  'He Said "Sam, You're Out of Focus"' is for low wind and or brass with optional drone and optional cymbal. This piece has taken a short extract from a 19th Century piece and obscured the identity of it by elongating it and compressing the pitch range. The combination of instruments is determined by the the performers. Optional: other instruments play a drone ...
20 Jun 2013, Article
New Piece uploaded for Recorder Quartet (SATB) with recording
This slowish piece for soprano, alto, tenor and bass recorders is very loosely based on Janacek's piano arrangement of Moravian Folksongs.  However, the melody has been changed and there is a just hint of the mood of Janacek's piece remaining.  Those interested may wish to compare it to another of Burnell's pieces 'A Spotted Version of Moravian Folksong No. 11'.  Recordings are linked to the score pages for both pieces.
12 Jun 2013, Article
Sedge Fen - new score and recording
'Sedge Fen' is a piece for three oboes or flexible ensemble (with optional drone), and the score has just been uploaded.  When performed by three oboes is is called '3 Oboes Drifting'.  It is a slow, gentle piece and was written as a companion to a much earlier composition, also available on MusicaNeo, called 'Tricorder' (3 Oboes Dancing). The recording is of 3 oboes with drone.
05 Mar 2013, Article
Recording uploaded for Janácek, 15 Moravian Folksongs - arranged for String Quartet
I know that sometimes synthesiser recordings do not always provide a perfect interpretation of a piece, but I've decided regardless to upload a synth version of my string quartet arrangement of Janacek 15 Moravian Folksongs - on the basis that, in this case, something is better than nothing.  If there are any string quartets out there that would like to try out the arrangement then please get in touch.
← previous next →