Paul Burnell

20 Jun 2014
Ragtime - Erwin Schulhoff, from 'Fünf Pittorestken'
Recorder sextet arrangement of 1919 Schulhoff piano work
Recently uploaded score and parts of an arrangement of an Erwin Schulhoff piece - the second movement of his 'Fünf Pittoresken'.  The original has a tempo marking of Zeitmass Ragtime (ragtime tempo) and shows the influence of jazz styles that was to continue throughout his career.  I thought this would arrange well for recorders, and it turned out as a sextet - Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass, Great Bass and Contrabass.  The third movement is quite-well known as being made up of rests - in a way anticipating what John Cage would produce later on in the century.



Log in to post a comment